Skip to content

psalm 14

August 13, 2011
by

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution

Take a bow for the new revolution

Smile and grin at the change all around me

Pick up my guitar and play

Just like yesterday

And I’ll get on my knees and pray

We don’t get fooled again

The Who

Nobody wants to be a fool. We’ve all had some form of the dream where you show up at an important event completely unprepared (or wearing only underwear!). For years, I had a recurring dream that I was taking a literature class and hadn’t read any of the books all semester. I’d wake up in a cold sweat thinking about the exam I was getting ready to fail.

Fear of being a fool is deeply ingrained into our souls.

This fear drives business cultures. “Adapt or die” is a slogan that pushes companies and their leaders to always stay on top of things.

At the other end of the spectrum, fear of being a fool drives hipster culture. There is an incessant pressure to stay ahead of any trend. After all, who wants to look like an idiot?

Psalm 14 gets to the root of this fundamental fear we all have. Psalm 14 paints a picture of true foolishness.

But here’s the good news of the gospel: God saves fools. He saves fools like us and then begins to make us wise.

This means we don’t have to live in fear of looking like a fool. God meets us in our foolishness.

This week, we are focusing our worship on Psalm 14.

I hope to worship with you.

John

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

