Skip to content

pentecost songs

June 10, 2011
by

This Sunday, June 12, is Pentecost Sunday. Pentecost, which means ‘fifty’, signifies the 50 days between the resurrection of Jesus and the day the Holy Spirit descended on the disciples and established the church (Acts 2). Bruce Benedict (Worship and Arts Director at Christ the King Presbyterian Church, Raleigh NC) has put together a wonderful album entitled Pentecost Songs on his blog Cardiphonia. It contains over twenty songs from different artists, using texts that celebrate and reflect on the Holy Spirit’s work through the church over the last thousand years.

Though Grace Seattle is in the midst of a sermon series on the Ten Commandments, I will be playing the song “Spirit of God” by Karl Digerness during communion this Sunday. Beyond the beautiful hymn-like melody, the words are captivating. The text by George Croly is a humble prayer to God for His Spirit to teach us to know, feel, and love God more deeply. You can listen to the song above and read the text below. Get the album HERE.

1 Spirit of God, descend upon my heart,

Wean it from earth, through all its pulses move; 


Stoop to my weakness, mighty as Thou art, 


And make me love Thee as  I ought to love.

 2 I ask no dream, no prophet-ecstasies; 


No sudden rending of the veil of clay; 


No angel-vision, no op’ning skies; 


But take the dimness of   my soul away.

 3 Hast Thou not bid us love Thee, God and King? 


All, all Thine own, soul, heart and strength and mind;


I see the cross–there teach my heart to cling; 


O let me seek Thee, and O let me find.

 4 Teach me to feel that Thou art always nigh; 


Teach me the struggles of the soul to bear, 


To check the rising doubt, the rebel sigh; 


Teach me the patience of unanswered prayer.

 5 Teach me to love Thee as Thine angels love, 


One holy passion filling all my frame: 


The baptism of the heaven-descended Dove, 


My heart an altar, and Thy love the flame.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

